Problem
This article describes the process to create a custom Bill of Materials (BOM) template in a SOLIDWORKS Drawing.
Solution
- Open SOLIDWORKS and open an existing drawing file with a drawing view
-
Go to Insert > Table > Bill of Materials
- Select the drawing view
-
Adjust the Bill of Materials settings as desired in the Property Manager window that comes up
- Click the Green Checkmark when done adjusting settings
- Place the BOM by left-clicking in the graphics area
-
Right-click a row or column and go to Insert to add additional rows or columns as needed
-
Adjust the Column type by double-left-clicking it at the top. A dialog box appears above the column with the column type and property name lists.
-
When ready to save the BOM Template, right-click the BOM to select "Save as"
- Select a location to save the BOM Template in and give it a name. The default location is:
C:\Program Files\SOLIDWORKS Corp\SOLIDWORKS\lang\english. - We recommend saving the Custom Template in a separate location to avoid SOLIDWORKS Upgrade issues in the future. A BOM Template location can be added from Options > System Options > File Locations > BOM Templates.
-
Press "Add" to browse to the location to add, then click "OK" to accept the changes
- To make the new location the default BOM Template, use the "Move Up" button shown in the image above to move the file location to the top of the list.
-
Start a new BOM, and in the property manager, it will say what template is being used at the top. Click the star button to browse to a different BOM template to use instead.
For additional support, existing customers can submit a ticket or new customers can contact Hawk Ridge Systems.
Comments
Article is closed for comments.