Save, Restore, or Reset SOLIDWORKS Settings

Problem

This guide provides steps for exporting or importing a SOLIDWORKS Settings File through the SOLIDWORKS Settings Wizard, also known as the Copy Settings Wizard in SOLIDWORKS 2022 or older. The Settings File created allows a User to save a backup or to share their System Options, Toolbar layout, Keyboard shortcuts, Mouse gestures, Menu customization, and/or Saved Views between machines with the same SOLIDWORKS version.

Accessing the Settings Wizard

We can access the Settings Wizard through the Windows application list:

windows icon, app list, SOLIDWORKS tools 2024 folder to find settings wizard
  1. Click on the Windows icon on your taskbar
  2. Scroll through the application list to SOLIDWORKS Tools 20XX and expand the folder
  3. Select SOLIDWORKS Settings Wizard 20XX (for 2023 and newer), or Copy Settings Wizard 20XX (for 2022 and older).

We can also use the Windows Search Bar to find the application by typing "Settings Wizard 20XX".

Settings Wizard Options

In SOLIDWORKS 2022 and older, there are two options available, while in SOLIDWORKS 2023 and newer, there are three options available. In SOLIDWORKS 2022 and older, the available options are Save Settings and Restore Settings, as shown in the image below. 

Save Settings or Restore Settings in SOLIDWORKS 2022 or older

There are three options available starting in SOLIDWORKS 2023: Save Settings, Restore Settings, and Reset Settings, as shown in the image below. 

Save Settings, Restore Settings, or Reset Settings in SOLIDWORKS 2023 or newer

Save Settings

  1. Choose Save Settings
  2. Choose which settings to save by checking the boxes under "Save these settings"
the solidworks settings that can be chosen
  1. Click "Browse" to set a location to save the Settings file to
  2. Click "Finish" to store the Settings file at the location specified

Restore Settings

  1. Choose Restore Settings
  2. Use "Browse" to choose the Settings file to restore from
  3. Choose which Settings to restore by checking the boxes under "Restore these settings"
restore settings options
  1. The next page controls the scope of which machines the Settings will be applied to. "Current user[username]" for individual users on the machine; "One or more network computers" for multiple machines; "One or more roaming user profiles" for roaming user profiles.  In this example, we will be showcasing the current user option.

    Select the Destination page
  2. Click "Next" after setting the Settings Restore Scope
  3. Optional: Check "Create backup of current settings for [user name]". The backup will be stored as a .sldreg file in the folder chosen earlier to make a backup settings file before changes are made.

    Finish Operation page - backup option of current settings highlighted
  4. Click Finish to apply the Settings file

Reset Settings

  1. Choose Reset Settings
  2. Choose "Reset Only" or "Save and Reset Settings". Select Reset Only to reset without making a backup. Select Save and Reset Settings to create a backup of the settings before resetting. 

    reset settings page, tow options, reset only or reset and save current settings
  3. Click "Next", and the settings will be reset
  4. The next page will confirm the reset

    Reset Settings finished page
  5. Click Finish to close the window

For additional support, existing customers can submit a ticket or new customers can contact Hawk Ridge Systems.

Was this article helpful?
2 out of 2 found this helpful

Articles in this section

Comments

0 comments

Article is closed for comments.