Why Is 3D Interconnect Always Used When Importing Files in SOLIDWORKS 2024 SP2 and Later?

Starting in SOLIDWORKS 2024 Service Pack 2 (SP2), the 3D Interconnect translator is the only translator used when importing 3D CAD models. 

Even when the Enable 3D Interconnect option is unchecked, SOLIDWORKS continues to use the 3D Interconnect translator and its associated functionality. This change is documented in the What’s New in SOLIDWORKS 2024.

This behavior can cause confusion, especially since the User Interface under Tools > Options > System Options > Import > General has not been updated to account for the change made to the 3D Translators. This means that the parameters for the Legacy Translator are still shown, despite having no effect on the import process. These parameters are highlighted in the image below.

System Options with highlighted sections showing legacy import settings that no longer work

This issue has been documented and can be tracked in the following BR.

BR10000377704 - In SOLIDWORKS 2024 SP2, the User Interface in Options > Import > General shows old parameters

User Interface

Because the user interface has not been updated to reflect the changes, it can be confusing to find the location where import settings are adjusted. 

Enabling or disabling any of the Legacy Parameters will have no effect on the import process. Because of this, it is recommended to keep the Enable 3D Interconnect option checked to ensure the legacy parameters cannot be interacted with and avoid confusion. 

Instead, it is advisable to set parameters under:

  1. Navigate to Tools > Options > System Options > Import > STEP / IGES / ACIS (3D Interconnect).

    Systems options for file format  STEP / IGES / ACIS (3D Interconnect).
  2. Navigate to Tools > Options > System Options > Import > Inventor / CATIA V5 / Creo / NX / Solid Edge (3D Interconnect).

    System Options, file format settings for Inventor/ Catia VS/ Creo/ NX/ Solid Edge

Import Files Without Maintaining a 3D Interconnect Link

Users who previously disabled 3D Interconnect to avoid maintaining a link to the original CAD file can achieve similar behavior using specific settings.

  1. Navigate to Tools > Options > System Options > Import.
  2. Under General, uncheck Create 3D Interconnect links.
  3. Under General, check Create external files.
SolidWorks System Options File Format Settings, Disabling 3D interconnect to avoid maintaining a link to the original CAD file

This configuration allows files to be imported without maintaining a live link to the source CAD data.

Re-Enable Legacy Translators Using the Windows Registry

In certain workflows, it may be necessary to use the legacy translators instead of 3D Interconnect. This can be accomplished by applying specific Windows registry keys.

When going into the Registry Editor, do not modify or delete anything except what is listed below. If you do not feel comfortable performing the steps listed below, please contact Technical Support.

The attached registry keys may be added to enable or disable the use of the legacy translator. The attached zip files contain 2 registry files. Follow the steps below to apply the registry key:

  1. Close SOLIDWORKS.
  2. Obtain the appropriate registry file depending on your version year:
    • 20XX-LegacyTranslators-ON.reg to restore pre-2024 SP2 import behavior.
    • 20XX-LegacyTranslators-OFF.reg to force 3D Interconnect-only behavior.
  3. Remove the .txt extension from the registry file name if present.
  4. Double-click the registry file.
  5. Confirm all registry prompts.
  6. Launch SOLIDWORKS.

When turning the legacy translators on, the 3D Interconnect setting still needs to be unchecked in Options > System Options > Import > General in order to use the legacy translator. 

Turn off 3DInterconnect

Note that these registry entries are stored under HKEY_CURRENT_USER. If SOLIDWORKS registry keys are reset or renamed during a clean installation or troubleshooting process, the registry file must be reapplied.

Identify Which Translator Is Being Used During Import

The translator in use can be identified by the progress dialog displayed during file import.

  1. Start importing a 3D CAD file.
  2. Observe the progress dialog that appears.
  3. Compare the dialog style to known 3D Interconnect or legacy translator progress windows.

3D Interconnect Translator

3D Interconnect Progress dialog box

Legacy Translator

Legacy Translator Progress dialog box

For additional support, existing customers can submit a ticket or new customers can contact Hawk Ridge Systems.

 

Was this article helpful?
1 out of 1 found this helpful

Articles in this section

Comments

0 comments

Article is closed for comments.