Creating Virtual Sharps in SOLIDWORKS

Problem

This article goes over how to create Virtual Sharps in a SOLIDWORKS Drawing or Sketch. Virtual Sharps are useful for measuring the true length of the part when one edge has a fillet or other geometry that is not a simple corner with a vertex. Virtual Sharps are essentially virtual intersections of two lines that are generally created in a Drawing or 2D Sketch. They can be created in a 3D Sketch, but due to the 3D nature of a 3D sketch, creating one could prove to be more difficult. Virtual Sharps cannot be created in a part or assembly file from solid edges, only from sketches.

Virtual Sharp Example

Solution 1: Reference Point

 Follow the steps below to create a Virtual Sharp using a Point:

  1. Open a Drawing or 2D Sketch
  2. Hold down the SHIFT or CTRL key while selecting two edges
  3. With the edges selected, add a Point from the Sketch tab.

    Add Reference Point with edges selected
  4. The Virtual Sharp is created

    Virtual Sharp

 

Solution 2: Smart Dimension

Follow the steps below to create a Virtual Sharp using the Smart Dimension tool:

  1. Open a Drawing or 2D Sketch
  2. Open the Smart Dimension tool from the Sketch tab
  3. Right-click on the first edge and select "Find Intersection"

    Right click the edge to select find intersection
  4. Left-click on the second edge to create the Virtual Sharp
Virtual Sharp example 2

Virtual Sharps can be dimensioned against as shown in the example below.

The appearance of Virtual Sharps can be changed from Options > Document Properties > Virtual Sharps.

Virtual Sharp Document Properties

For additional support, existing customers can submit a ticket or new customers can contact Hawk Ridge Systems.

Was this article helpful?
0 out of 0 found this helpful

Articles in this section

Comments

0 comments

Article is closed for comments.