Increasing Resolution of Exported Image Files in SOLIDWORKS

Problem

When exporting images from the SOLIDWORKS graphics area using File > Save As, some users notice that the resulting JPEG (JPG), Portable Network Graphics (PNG), Tag Image File Format (TIF), or Photoshop Document (PSD) file saves at a lower resolution than desired. This can lead to pixelation or poor print quality.

By default, SOLIDWORKS uses a Screen Capture export setting, which limits the output resolution to the native resolution of the user’s monitor.

Image of the SOLIDWORKS Export Options window showing the “Screen Capture” and “Print Capture” settings for image formats including JPG, PNG, TIF, and PSD.

Solution

To increase the image resolution, update the export settings to use Print Capture and adjust the dots per inch (DPI) value with the steps below:

  1. Open SOLIDWORKS
  2. Select Tools > Options > System Options
  3. Select the Export tab
  4. Select TIF/PSD/JPG/PNG from the File Format drop-down
  5. Change the export setting from "Screen Capture" to "Print Capture"
  6. Increase the DPI value to the desired resolution
  7. Adjust the Paper Size if a larger image size is needed
    Image of the SOLIDWORKS Export Options window showing the “Screen Capture” and “Print Capture” settings for image formats including JPG, PNG, TIF, and PSD.
  8. Select "OK" to save the settings
  9. Export the image again using File > Save As

For additional support, existing customers can submit a ticket or new customers can contact Hawk Ridge Systems.

Was this article helpful?
0 out of 0 found this helpful

Articles in this section

Comments

0 comments

Article is closed for comments.