Problem
This article goes over how to configure Permissions for the Toolbox. For more information on other Toolbox topics, review this article: Comprehensive Toolbox Guide
For best practices for sharing a Toolbox: What Are the Best Practices for Using a Shared SOLIDWORKS Toolbox? – Hawk Ridge Systems
Solution
Follow the steps below to modify the Permissions in the Toolbox:
- In Windows Search, type "Toolbox Settings" to bring up Toolbox Settings 20XX and open it
-
Once the toolbox is open, select "Set permissions" to modify Permissions
-
Now the Permissions window is displayed with a variety of settings that can be adjusted
- Password: Click Create/Change to create a password. The next time you open the Configure Data dialog box, click Login and enter the password to gain change access. An administrator creates a password and sets permissions for various Toolbox functions. Other users can view, but not modify, the restricted functions without the administrative password.
- Allow editing of Content: When cleared, the data on the Content tab is view-only.
- Allow editing of Properties: When cleared, the options on the Properties tab are view-only.
- Allow adding of parts to Toolbox: When cleared, you cannot add parts to the library of Toolbox components.
- Allow editing of Favorites: When cleared, you cannot add or change Favorites in the Toolbox property manager.
- Allow editing of Configuration Name/File Name: When cleared, you cannot add or change configuration or file name in the Toolbox property manager.
- Settings: Specify how settings are applied in a multi-user environment.
- Smart Fasteners: Specify how Smart Fasteners settings are applied in a multi-user environment.
-
Once we are done configuring the Toolbox, click the Save icon at the top left to save the Toolbox
For additional support, existing customers can submit a ticket or new customers can contact Hawk Ridge Systems.
Comments
Article is closed for comments.