Skip to main content

How to Create Custom Weldment Profiles in SOLIDWORKS

weldment example

Problem

When using the Weldment tool, a SOLIDWORKS installation comes with a default set of weldment profiles that can be selected in their default location. We can also download additional weldment profiles from SOLIDWORKS Content.

What if we need a profile that does not exist in the files provided by SOLIDWORKS? We can create a custom profile, starting from a sketch that meets the standards or specifications desired and saving it as a Lib Feat Part to use in the weldment design process.

Step 1: Weldment Profiles File Location

Before we create our own weldment custom files, it's important to first determine where we are saving the profiles. We can save them where the default profiles are located or at any location as desired.

  1. With SOLIDWORKS opened, go to Tools > Options > System Options > File Locations > Show folders for "Weldment Profiles"

    tools options system options show folders weldment profiles
  2. Browse to the location that is listed through the Windows File Explorer. Click on the empty space in the file path to select it and copy the full path. Keep a record of this full path to make saving the custom weldment profile in the later steps easier. 

    shows where to click; empty space after the path
  3. If the location listed in the File Locations in SOLIDWORKS is not where we want to put the weldment profile locations, we can create a "custom weldment profiles" folder where desired through the Windows File Explorer, such as in the Documents folder.
  4. Click the "Add" button in File Locations

    the add button in the file location dialog box is highlighted
  5. In the "Select Folder" dialog box, browse to the "weldment profiles" folder we have created and select it.
  6. Click the "Select Folder" button at the bottom right-hand corner of the dialog box
  7. The path to the folder will be added to the Weldment Profiles Folders list

    shows an additional path has been added to the folder box

Step 2: Weldment Folder Structure

Now that we have let SOLIDWORKS recognize where to find the weldment profile, we need to understand that there are two ways that weldment profiles can be organized in terms of file structure inside of the file explorer. Note that there are three fields that need to be selected before we can select a sketch and create a structural member: Standard, Type, and Size.

The first way is to save a .sldlfp file with multiple configurations to represent various sizes. In this case, the .sldlfp file is directly placed inside the Standard folder. The file itself represents the Type, and its various Size options are made through various configurations. 

sldlfp file needs to be placed inside of the Standard folder (only one folder deep from the weldment profiles folder)

 

The second way is to save out a .sldlfp file as a file that represents one size only. In this case, the .sldlfp file is placed in a folder that is named for its Type, which is placed inside a Standard folder. The .sldlfp file contains one size of the Type it's under. 

sldlfp file needs to be placed inside of the Type folder, which is inside of the Standard (two folders deep from the weldment profiles folder)

Step 3: Making and Saving Custom Profiles

We will now start making the actual sketch for the custom weldment profile:

  1. Open a new, empty part
  2. Start sketching on any of the default planes and fully define it, as fitted to the specifications needed, then exit out of the Sketch tool
  3. Add more configurations and configure the sketch dimensions as needed, if we are going for structuring the folder with the First Way listed in the Weldment Folder Structure section. In this example, we are making one size per part.
  4. After the sketch has been set up, we will now save it out.  Note: We must select the sketch before we save this out as a profile part file

    sketch feature is selected/highlighted in the FeatureTree
  5. After the sketch is selected, go to File > Save As
  6. In the Save As dialog box, change the Save as type to "Lib Feat Part"

    shows the locaiton of the save as type dropdown menu
  7. Browse to the location of the weldment profiles folder and create the folder structure according to the desired folder structure, and save the file in the right folder

    file explorer has been browsed to the location of the weldment profiles folder, and is inside of type and standard folder
  8. The sketch should now have an "L" icon in the FeatureTreethe sketch picture in the FeatureTree now has a L icon
  9. Now we can use the new custom weldment

    this shows the Standard, Type, and Size fileds in the Structural Member's PropertyManager has been filled out. The sketch has been selected in the viewport and the member is correctly previewed.

    For additional support, existing customers can submit a ticket or new customers can contact Hawk Ridge Systems.

Was this article helpful?
0 out of 0 found this helpful

Articles in this section

Comments

0 comments

Article is closed for comments.