How to Insert an Image into a SOLIDWORKS Sketch

Problem

This article goes over how to insert an Image into a Sketch using the Sketch Picture feature. This is useful when attempting to recreate the shapes of objects using an image when it is difficult to define parametrically.

Solution

  1. Open SOLIDWORKS and open or start a Part file
  2. Start a 2D Sketch on the desired Plane
  3. Go to Tools > Sketch Tools > Sketch Picture

    Start Sketch Picture
  4. Select the image file (.bmp, .gif, .jpg, .jpeg, .tif, .tiff, .wmf, .png, .psd) to insert and click "Open"
  5. In the Property Manager, adjust the Origin, Size, and Scale of the picture as desired. Note: The image can be resized and moved by using the mouse to adjust it in the graphics area.

    Adjust Picture Size and Location
  6. Click the Green Checkmark when satisfied with the sketch position and size.

After exiting the sketch, the sketch picture appears as an item within the sketch in the feature tree. The sketch picture can be suppressed by right-clicking on it or turning off the visibility of sketches from View > Hide/Show.

Suppress Sketch Picture

When inserting a Sketch Picture, there is a tool called Autotrace that can be used to trace the inserted image. To learn more, check out this article: Autotrace: Speeding up your Outline Tracing – Hawk Ridge Systems

For additional support, existing customers can submit a ticket or new customers can contact Hawk Ridge Systems.

Was this article helpful?
0 out of 0 found this helpful

Articles in this section

Comments

0 comments

Article is closed for comments.