Problem
This article goes over how to have SOLIDWORKS upgrade an existing Toolbox during a new installation or reinstallation. If you are upgrading SOLIDWORKS, be aware that using the existing common data location will update the library to the latest version, and you will no longer be able to use older versions of the software with this library.
If you are using a shared location, you need only update the shared location once. You can have the other users install to the default location and then repoint their toolbox location in SOLIDWORKS from Options > System Options > Hole Wizard/Toolbox.
Solution
When reinstalling or installing SOLIDWORKS on a machine with an older version or a custom toolbox, SOLIDWORKS can use and upgrade that toolbox during installation with the steps below:
- Start the installation of SOLIDWORKS
- At the Summary page, click the blue "Change" button in the Toolbox/Hole Wizard Option section
-
Select the "Use an existing SOLIDWORKS Toolbox" option and click the "Browse" button to navigate to that toolbox folder
-
Optional: Check on "Upgrade a copy of your 20XX Toolbox data" so that a copy of the toolbox folder is upgraded instead. This will not modify the original toolbox folder so that the older version can still use it. This is useful for client machines that run multiple versions of SOLIDWORKS
- Click "Back to Summary"
- Accept the terms and start the installation
SOLIDWORKS will now install and upgrade the toolbox folder selected to the version being installed.
For additional support, existing customers can submit a ticket or new customers can contact Hawk Ridge Systems.
Comments
Article is closed for comments.