SOLIDWORKS DXF/DWG Export Does Not Show Flat Pattern Bend Lines

Problem

SOLIDWORKS uses the options in the default drawing template to control the Flat Pattern DXF and DWG export. If the bend lines are not visible in the default drawing template, these bend lines will not appear in a DXF or DWG export. This affects DXF and DWG files exported from Part files. This article shows how to ensure that the drawing template options are correct for the Flat Pattern.

DXF Example, bend lines missing on flat pattern

Solution

This section describes how to change the view setting for bend lines in the default drawing template. When using  a template that has this option enabled, skip to changing the default drawing template using steps 8-9. 

Follow the steps below to change view options and show bend lines in DXF and DWG flat patterns:

  1. Open the default drawing template by creating a new document.

    Create new document, default drawing template selection
  2. Open the drop-down menu next to the eye icon in the Heads-Up Toolbar.

    Visibility options drop-down in Heads-Up Toolbar
  3. Enable the "View Bend Lines" option from the drop-down menu. Note: This can also be enabled from View > Hide/Show > Bend Lines.

    "View Bend Lines" option in Heads-Up Toolbar
  4. Select File > Save As
  5. Change the "Save as type" to "Drawing Templates (*.drwdot)"

    Change Save as type to "Drawing Templates"
  6. Choose a location to store this template in. The file location for default templates is: C:\ProgramData\SOLIDWORKS\SOLIDWORKS 20XX\templates. Note: We recommend storing Custom Templates in a different location to avoid SOLIDWORKS Upgrade Issues. Template Locations can be added from Options > System Options > File Locations > Document Templates.
  7. Rename the file as needed and click "Save"
  8. Since the saved template is under a new name, we will need to change the default drawing document. Go to Tools>Options>System Options>Default Templates.

    Options button location in Tools drop-down menu
  9. Use the "..." button to select the new drawing template

    Change default drawing template, select "..." button and browse to file.
  10. Retest the DXF/DWG export

For additional support, existing customers can submit a ticket or new customers can contact Hawk Ridge Systems.

Was this article helpful?
0 out of 0 found this helpful

Articles in this section

Comments

0 comments

Article is closed for comments.