Problem
This article explains how to Rollback a file to a previous version in SOLIDWORKS PDM. Since PDM 2017, you can also roll back a parent file and its child references.
Solution
Follow the steps below to Rollback a file:
- Open the PDM Vault View and locate the file to rollback
-
Select the file and click on "History" in the context menu at the top, or right-click to select "History"
-
In the History window, select the version to rollback to and click "Rollback". In the example below, we are rolling back to version 1.
-
Select a type of Rollback to either just rollback the file or rollback the file and references.
- Click "Continue"
-
If you select "File selected for Rollback and its references", a dialog box will appear with the file and all its references checked, as shown below. Note: Selecting Yes for "Redirect parent references of the file to be rolled back" will redirect the parent files to use the rolled back version of the file instead of deleting the reference. This is the default selection. Selecting No will delete the parent references of the rolled back versions.
- Click "Continue"
-
After selecting Continue, a list of the files for which the references are redirected or deleted appears as shown below. Please note: All versions that were created after the selected version cannot be reversed.
- Click "Continue"
-
Review the rollback warning, click "I understand", and click "Rollback" to rollback the files
- Now the file and all its references will be returned to the "selected" previous version, including state and revision.
For additional support, existing customers can submit a ticket or new customers can contact Hawk Ridge Systems.
Comments
Article is closed for comments.