How to Enable Measurement in eDrawings

Problem

eDrawings allows users who do not want to use a SOLIDWORKS license to review and measure SOLIDWORKS or eDrawings files. This article provides instructions on how to enable the ability to measure eDrawings and SOLIDWORKS files in eDrawings Viewer and Professional.

Solution 1: SOLIDWORKS Files

Native SOLIDWORKS files opened in eDrawings have measurement enabled by default, including exported eDrawings files.

Solution 1: eDrawings Files

To enable measurement for eDrawings files, the file must be exported from SOLIDWORKS Professional or Premium as EPRT/EASM/EDRW with measurement enabled. Follow the steps below:

  1. Open SOLIDWORKS
  2. Go to Tools> Options > System Options > Export
  3. Change to the eDrawings file type EPRT/EASM/EDRW
  4. Check the export option "Enable Measure" and click "OK"

    Uncheck enable measure
  5. Go to File > Save as
  6. Change the file type to an eDrawings file type (EPRT, EASM, or EDRW)
  7. Save the file
  8. Open the file in eDrawings to verify that Measure is enabled

    Measure enabled

For additional support, existing customers can submit a ticket or new customers can contact Hawk Ridge Systems.

 

Was this article helpful?
0 out of 0 found this helpful

Articles in this section

Comments

0 comments

Article is closed for comments.