Follow

How to Batch Convert Files from an Older Version of SOLIDWORKS to a Newer Version

Rayne Britt

When upgrading SOLIDWORKS to the newest year version, the software is updated however the part, assemblies, and drawings are not automatically converted to the new version. Instead of converting each file individually (by opening in the SOLIDWORKS application and saving the files), you can convert all of your files all at once by using the SOLIDWORKS Task Scheduler.

The Task Scheduler has many other tasks that allow you to batch print, export, and even automate renderings. Some of these advanced tasks require a SOLIDWORKS Professional or Premium license, but the Convert Task is available to all versions of SOLIDWORKS.

Notes

  • Please back-up all files before converting them. Once files are saved in the latest release, they cannot be opened in an earlier version of SOLIDWORKS.
  • This guide only applies to non-PDM controlled files. For PDM users, please refer File Version Upgrade Utility guide.

Process

To start the task scheduler search for the 'SOLIDWORKS Task Scheduler' in your Windows search view and click on the 'SOLIDWORKS Task Scheduler" application':

mceclip2.png

  1. Locate Convert Files on the sidebar, or click Tasks in the file menu and select Convert Filesmceclip0.png
  2. The Convert dialog box appears. In the 'Task title' section type in a title for the task or leave the default (Convert Files). Under the 'Task files and folders' section, select the files or folders you would like to convert. Click the Add File or Add Folder button and select the files or folder(s) to update and click Open. To select additional files or folders repeat step
  3. If you do not want to include sub-folders, uncheck Include sub-folders. To delete a file or folder from the list, click its number or path, then select Delete.
  4. Under Task schedule section, set the Running mode (this option specifies how often the task runs: Once, Daily, Weekly, or Monthly.), the Start time and the Start date.
  5. To spread the conversion process among multiple computers, the Network Monitor can be setup to share the workload. This is not required, but for more information review this help article.
  6. To change conversion options click Options. Here you can specify how the task scheduler continues with files that have rebuild errors or broken references. From here you can specify how configured files are handled (does it activate and rebuild all configurations before saving or just the active one when its opened). The options pane is important because it allows you to create a backup archive of files BEFORE they are converted so if something goes wrong you will still have all of your old version files to revert back to.
    mceclip5.png

  7. The Advanced option will allow you to change the working folder, time-out values, and other options. You can provide a maximum time frame for the given task, if the task is a long task (updating hundreds of models could take hours) make sure an appropriate time is provided here.
  8. After you have made of all your selections click Finish.

Upon completion, verify that the appropriate time(s) has been entered. 

mceclip6.png

When the selected time and date arrives the system will start the conversion process, opening files in SOLIDWORKS, rebuilding, and saving them as current versions. It is not recommended to use SOLIDWORKS on this machine during the conversion process since it will be opening and closing SOLIDWORKS repeatedly. Once the conversion process completes the status will change to 'Completed'.

mceclip7.png

References

Was this article helpful?
0 out of 0 found this helpful
Have more questions? Submit a request

Comments