Follow

Custom Tool Crib - Saving Tools

Daniel Lyon

If I create a custom tool crib using existing tools and modifying the parameters, why do the parameters switch back to the original in a new configuration or file?

Was this article helpful?
0 out of 0 found this helpful
Have more questions? Submit a request

Comments

  • Avatar
    Daniel Lyon

    If you modify the existing tools by entering new values into the Mill Tool parameters page you change it only for that configuration/file. If you want to save the parameters into a tool crib for use in a number of files or configurations you have to either save those changes to the tool or add a new tool to the database. This will either create a new tool ID in the database (add) or change the default parameters for the existing tool ID (change). If this step is not performed the tools will switch back to their default parameters (the original values before you modified them) in all new configurations/files regardless of whether you saved the tool crib or not.